Was my dad just a bit too harsh?

Postby leyman90 » March 17th, 2014, 2:49 am

So I'm a freshman at high school, and a guy if that helps. I'm in a program that's based on science math and technology skills. I had been doing very good in school for the first month, even though high school was a huge adjustment. This past week, in math, there were two assignments where I got totally disorganized and forgot to turn them in. I realized my mistakes and how I can fix them three days ago. My dad found out about them (worst nightmare) and got really mad. He started saying how I should start doing all these chores like lawn mowing and stuff to start preparing myself for what I was gonna be doing later. At this point I was kind of getting a bit bored because I had already fixed the mistakes. I didn't try to make a point of this though because he never believes me. This escalated to me having to do push-ups until I figured out what it was I didn't fix the second time. I kept telling him I didn't know, because it was the truth. He kept telling me that I had to continue until I knew, calling me lazy and saying I needed it. I kept desperately saying I didn't know, trying not to show that I was crying. I take all my dad's words deep down and to the heart, because he's the most important person to me. After about 40, he realized how desperate I was for him to understand me. He still seemed like he wasn't convinced yet though. I don't understand why he never gives me recognition for the good things I do. I keep trying to tell him about this assignment I did and how my group won in a project and stuff like that but all he says is good job at the most. Whenever I mess up the slightest, he gets so mad. I don't get it. Someone please give me something I could do or how I could talk to him or something.
leyman90

Postby mustafa47 » March 17th, 2014, 2:52 am